Oatmeal pancakes

Even though this is the second pancake recipe in a row that I’ve posted, most mornings I put very little thought into what I eat for breakfast. It’s usually just granola or, if I don’t have any classes or meetings very early in the morning, a bowl of oatmeal cooked with some berries. My breakfast choices are usually very boring. But with the recent holiday weekend, I decided to celebrate by making my favorite oatmeal pancakes.

I grew up on pancakes that my parents made from a Krusteaz mix, but these oatmeal pancakes take only a few minutes longer to make and are infinitely better in terms of taste and texture, and the addition of whole grains makes them healthier. Next time I might throw some lemon zest in with the wet ingredients. With the entire batch, I’m pretty much set for breakfast this week.

Oatmeal Pancakes

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

  • 3/4 cup oat flour (I made this by pulsing a scant 1 cup of rolled oats in my food processor until they were finely ground)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 tsp. sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. Kosher or coarse salt
  • 3 Tbsp. butter, melted and cooled slightly (plus extra for the pan)
  • 1 1/4 cups half-and-half
  • 1 cup cooked oatmeal (cook 1/2 cup rolled oats and a pinch of salt in 1 cup water until the water is absorbed; cool slightly)
  • 1 Tbsp. honey
  • 2 large eggs
  • Syrup, berries, and powdered sugar, if desired, for serving

Whisk the dry ingredients (oat flour, all-purpose flour, sugar, baking powder and salt) together in a large bowl. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients (butter, half-and-half, cooked oatmeal, honey and eggs) until thoroughly combined. Gently fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, using a very light hand. The batter will be slightly thick.

Heat a 10-inch pan over medium heat until water sizzles when splashed onto the pan, then lower heat to medium-low. Brush the pan generously with butter. Dollop 1/4-cup mounds of batter onto the pan, 2 or 3 at a time. Once bubbles have begun to form and break towards the center of each pancake, flip it over and cook until the bottom is dark golden-brown, another 2 minutes. Continue with the rest of the batter until it is used up. Serve the pancakes hot.

Yield: Smitten Kitchen says 18 pancakes, but I got 15 because I used heaping 1/4 cups of batter.

Leave a Reply

